When I think of fellowship, I think of spiritual connection.  I think of a community coming together in the face of a natural disaster or some other tragedy.  I think of people sharing their stories and their lives in ways to bring compassion and peace to one another.   Fellowship is about weathering the storms and getting back on your feet.  Fellowship is about individuals lifting one another; living like you mean it, helping others live like they mean it.

In exploring this weeks ‘spiritual stone’ of ‘Fellowship‘ I remember August 6, 1993.  That day a tornado swept through several central Virginia communities causing a substantial amount of damage and several lost.  Today’s video posting was recorded in one of those localities, the ‘Old Towne’ area of the City of Petersburg, my hometown.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bYhNgqxvnck&feature=youtu.be

As I write this post, I think too of the coming together of the many people who through their ‘fellowship’ helped in on an another far more tragic August 6th.  In 1945 the people of Hiroshima in Japan suffered the devastating effects of the worlds first nuclear bombing.  In the coming weeks, months and years, many people worked in ‘fellowship’ to heal the wounds of war suffered by so many.

I have seen ‘fellowship’ exhibited on many occasions by various men I’ve encountered over the years both as a participant and a leader at men’s retreat events.  Seeing men lift one another spiritually through their collective ‘fellowship’ and individual ‘fellowship’ is a true gift the Creator has allowed me to see.  I have witnessed more than once men praying one on one, or in deep conversation, meditating; reassuring and sharing words of love, guidance and compassion.  Men connecting as ‘Jesus Followers’ is truly a sight to behold and experience.  I remember in 2010 standing in a room of about 75 men all in small groups of 4 or 5.  The room hummed with dialogue and discussion the speaker had instructed take place, but then slowly the dialogue shifted from conversations with one another to conversations with God.  Group by group the sound of intimate prayers; bare, open requests were being lifted aloud throughout the room.  I recall the guest speaker and I sharing a joyful smile in response to the joyful noise saying,”Wow!” to one another as we looked on.

IMG_0339

Whether in time of despair or time of joy, the collective intimacy and human aspect of ‘fellowship’ and its ability to tap into the cosmic, mystical spirituality within the depths of our souls is a gift from God.  It connects us and makes us whole.  We need and feed on the holy connection of ‘fellowship’ and the peace it brings to ourselves and to others; safe and secure, leaning on the everlasting arms.

What a fellowship, what a joy divine,
Leaning on the everlasting arms;
What a blessedness, what a peace is mine,
Leaning on the everlasting arms.

Have a great week!

Up next: ‘Ministry’

Peace,

Ray

